Dream Concert 2011

June 11, 2011

On May 28th, the "I Love Korea 2011 Dream Concert" celebrated its 17th year anniversary at the Seoul Sangam World Cup Stadium in Seoul. Sponsored by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Hyundai Oilbank, and the Korea Entertainment Producer's Association, the Dream Concert, one of the biggest concerts in Korea, attracted over 4,000 fans from overseas.

Today, the concert was simultaneously broadcast on KBS2TV and KBS World, and was made available to viewers from Paris, Berlin, Rome, Hong Kong, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia). There was so much anticipation for the broadcast before it even aired that #dreamconcert even trended on Twitter. As a result, those unaware of the concert have been continuing the trend with what they imagined would be their dream concert. Once again proving the power of the Hallyu wave, as each artist’s performance was aired, the artist and/or song title ended up trending on Twitter, causing confusion for those who were not aware, and much amusement for fans who saw the trend.

MCs for the concert included Goo Hara from KARA, Song Jongki, and Kim Heechul from Super. In addition, the actor Kim Sohyun was invited as a special guest to sing the title song, "Dreaming," from the hit drama "Dream High". Kim Sohyun also performed a duet, "Maybe," with castmember, miss A's Suzy. The
cast from "Dream High" were also able to have a special reunion backstage.

The concert started off with a special performance of a mix of TVXQ’s “Why (Keep Your Head Down)”, 4minute’s “4minutes Left,” and Super Junior’s “Sorry Sorry”. There was also a special joint performance by Kim Taewoo, Eru, and Seo Ingook performing Big Bang’s “Sunset Glow”.

Dream Concert 2011 boasted a huge lineup consisting of performances from 24 artists. For those of you who missed the broadcast, some clips from today's airing of the concert can be found below. At the actual concert, the artists actually performed more than one song, but today’s broadcast of the concert only included one song for most artists. At the end of the show, all the artists got together on stage for one final song. Which performance was your favorite?

source: koreaboo.com
Links to the performances:

other performances:

Kim Taewoo – “Echo”

Flower (Go Yoojin, Kim Woodi, Go Sungjin) – “Tears”

Kim Taewoo, Eru, Seo Ingook – Big Bang’s “Sunset Glow”

4minute (Nam Jihyun, Heo Gayoon, Jun Jiyoon, Kim Hyuna, Kwon Sohyun) – “Mirror Mirror (Remix)”

2PM (Junsu, Nichkhun, Taecyeon, Wooyoung, Junho, Changsung) – “I’ll be back”

TVXQ (Yunho, Changmin) – “Why (Keep Your Head Down)” + “Maximum”

Post a Comment

Write a comment & tell me your thoughts!


© FISHMEATDIE. Made by SoulMuse.